History of the Parker Day Spa Charming Victorian Home
19767 Pikes Peak Court ~ Parker Colorado ~ 80138
The original structure that Tina Long purchased in 1998 to preserve and serve as a spot to hide away from the big city and be pampered in this idealic scene alongside the creekbed, surrounded by hundred year old cottonwoods and nested in the picturesque Historic Downton Parker Business District.
Edward Wallace Hoskins was born in Nashville Vermont in 1879 and was a painter and decorator. He married Maude Hurlburt Bickness and the pair moved to the healing Colorado climate because of his tuberculosis.
This Victorian home was built in 1907 by Edward Wallace Hoskins and included 1161 livable square feet.
Maude taught school at the Pine Grove School from 1910 – 1915 and in 1915 she became the superintendent of schools in Douglas County. She was instrumental in organizing the first parent teacher association in Parker which was formed on Feb 4, 1916 with Mrs. Charles Herzog as president Principal L.A. Brown as vice president., Mrs. Dora Heath, and Mrs. James Baldauf as treasurer.
Mrs. Hoskins also developed the idea of “centrals” groups of schools that would engage in interscholastic activities.
The lot 46 x 150 x 50x 150 foot lot in the Heath Addition from Dr. Walter Heath for $50 and proceeded to build a home. Dr. Heath was the first physician in Parker and the bronze statue on Mainstreet and Victorian of the doctor on the park bench was built in tribue to him.
Edward and Marude secured a $500 mortgage on the property from Dr. Heath. On September 1, 1914 the property was sold to Thomas and flora O’Neill for $300.
Edward Hoskins was buried in the Castle Rock Cemetery. The house was one of two homes that escaped damages from the 1912 flood and is now owned by Ms. Tina Long as the Parker Day Spa.
The Hoskins House – is one of 18 structures that are part of the Parker Landmark Register
Property Name with dates the structure was built and the date they were Landmarked by the Parker Historical Society
- Tallman-Newlin Cabin 1866 July 6, 1998
- Newlin Cemetery 1898 July 6, 1998
- Ruth Memorial Chapel 1913 July 6, 1998
- Herzog-Tallman House 1911 August 4, 1998
- 20 Mile House (Pine Grove Post Office) 1862 October 19, 1998
- Montgomery House 1915 January 11, 2000
- Parker Consolidated Schoolhouse 1915 November 19, 2001
- Parker Garage 1916 November 19, 2001
- Parker Community Club Building 1950 February 19, 2002
- J.S. Parker Cemetery 1884 June 16, 2003
- Community Club Park / O’Brien Park Early 1900′s July 21, 2003
- Walter Heath House 1911 June 7, 2004
- Slemmer Ranch Barn 1919 June 7, 2004
- Ave Maria Catholic Church 1916 February 6, 2006
- Hoskins House 1911 August 20, 2007
- Rhode Island House 1906 September 11, 2006
- Newcomb House 1911 August 20, 2007
- DuRay-Hall House 1911 August 20, 2007